A great WordPress.com site

cartoon-shakespeare

If you’ve only read one sonnet in your life, it was probably Sonnet 18…”Shall I compare thee to a summer’s day . . .”

You were probably forced to read it by some English teacher who was desperate to excite you about Shakespeare by pointing out the obvious sexual references. . . I know I was.

Much as I like love the sexual references, forget about them for a sec.  Look at the last two lines . . .

So long as men can breathe or eyes can see,
So long lives this and this gives life to thee.

In simple modern English, he’s saying “This poem is so awesome they will be reading it FOREVER; I just made you immortal Babe.”

The sonnets are numbered roughly in the order they were written, so #18 (of 154) was written when he was a pretty young guy.

It’s the most arrogant thing ever written in the English language.  It would be unacceptably arrogant . . . if it wasn’t turning out to be true.

There are a lot of reasons why Shakespeare’s great, one that is often overlooked is that he knew from the start that he was great.

Do you have the courage – the honesty – the unadulterated Chutzpah to believe how great you are?  We ALL have greatness within us.  Find yours and bring it to the world, this is not an option, it is our job here on earth.  Some are great writers, or painters, or parents or cooks, but we’ve all got something the world is hungry for.

Find your greatness and you will change the world in wonderful ways.

Comments on: "This Post will last FOREVER . . . Babe!" (7)

  1. To your question: I do! Thanks for asking. 🙂 I’m unsure if there was a way to simultaneously answer and retain a modicum of modesty. Good read from someone who never “got” Shakespeare. But I guess he was great.

    • I wonder about modesty too. I worry about advising arrogance, but I think the problem comes when someone starts to believe that their gifts make them better than someone else. There’s a balance there that I’m still striving for.

      Thanks for the comment, it’s got me thinking . . . and that’s a good thing.

  2. I concur. When ego, power and/or outright rudeness seep in, people can (and do) shift their perspectives of others. I am aware of my gifts, talents and intentional desire to share them – in abundance – with others. If others see or feel my greatness as arrogance, that’s their choice. I know what I’m choosing to give to /share with others and I am privileged to see how it benefits them! So, I guess what I’m attempting to say (sans modesty) is that perhaps there doesn’t need to be this so termed “balance.” Being openly proud of and grateful for what we do and how we contribute to humanity is some/often times worth broadcasting. IMHO.

    Glad you’re thinking. 🙂

  3. Reblogged this on Green Embers and commented:
    Find your greatness! Love this!

  4. I love this post! I think (and write) about arrogance and self-confidence, too. Thanks so much.

  5. This is great! I love it! Good to acknowledge. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

